‘Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio,’ ‘Avatar: The Approach of Water’ Take High Honors at thirteenth Annual Lumiere Awards

Right this moment, The Advanced Imaging Society’s Lumiere Awards awarded 23 statuettes for distinguished inventive and technical achievement. This 12 months’s theme, “Behind the Legend,” celebrated the inventive groups behind the scenes who’re creating legendary tales and characters for audiences.

The awards are voted for by members of the Hollywood inventive and know-how neighborhood working in movement photos, tv, and rising media.

“Our awards have humorously been known as the Oscars for geeks,” remarked Jim Chabin, AIS President. “However these honorees do give us insights into the way forward for motion pictures. These Lumiere winners pushed the boundaries of know-how and the outcomes have been exceptional storytelling at its absolute best.”

The entire listing of winners:

  • Greatest Function Movie – Reside Motion: Avatar: The Approach of Water (twentieth Century Studios)
  • Greatest Function Movie – Animated: Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio (Netflix)
  • Greatest Documentary: Good Night time Oppy (Amazon)
  • Greatest Movement Image – Musical: Elvis (Warner Bros)
  • Greatest Audio – Theatrical: The Batman (Warner Bros.)
  • Greatest Audio – Episodic: Stranger Issues: Season 4 (Netflix)
  • Greatest Use of VR: Gorilla Trek (Immotion)
  • Greatest Unique Tune: High Gun “Maintain My Hand” (Paramount)
  • Greatest Use of Excessive Dynamic Vary – Function Movie: Lightyear (Pixar)
  • Greatest Use of Excessive Dynamic Vary – Episodic: I Am Groot (Marvel)
  • Greatest 2D to 3D Conversion: Physician Unusual within the Multiverse of Insanity (Marvel Studios/ Disney)
  • Greatest Musical Scene or Sequence: Elvis (Warner Bros)
  • Greatest Scene or Sequence in a Function Movie: High Gun: Maverick (Paramount)
  • Greatest Episodic – Animated: Star Wars: Tales of the Jedi (Lucasfilm/Disney)
  • Greatest Episodic – Reside Motion: Andor (Lucasfilm/Disney)
  • Greatest Achievement in 8K Manufacturing: Kansai TV’s “moments”
  • Sir Charles Wheatstone Award for Artistic Excellence in Visible Results: Wētā FX
  • Innovation in Know-how Award: Microsoft
  • Innovation in Put up Manufacturing Instruments: Adobe
  • Distinguished Achievement in Training: Digital camera Evaluation Sequence (HBO)
  • Voices For The Earth Award: James Cameron and Jon Landau, Avatar: The Approach of Water
  • Gene Kelly Visionary Award: Damien Chazelle, Babylon
  • Harold Lloyd Award: Baz Luhrmann, Elvis

Supply: Superior Imaging Society

Debbie Diamond Sarto's picture

Debbie Diamond Sarto is information editor at Animation World Community.